published Jan. 27, 2017
Call for Papers: Arctic Studies@ACSUS
Association for Canadian Studies in the United States(ACSUS)はSection on the North and Arctic Indigenous Peoplesでの論文発表やパネルディスカッションの企画を募集しています。詳しくは下記をご覧ください。

Call for Proposals “the North & Arctic Indigenous Peoples Section”
(deadline for proposals is: March 15, 2017)

Association for Canadian Studies in the United States
2017 Biennial Conference: “Celebrating Canada's Sesquicentennial Journey”

October 18-21, 2017
Tuscany Suites and Casino, Las Vegas, NV
http://www.tuscanylv.com

The Arctic is one of the most important emerging regions in the world and the focus of intense political action. As the clearest source of empirical data for anthropogenic climate change, the polar north has become the catalyst for extraordinary innovation and collaboration in the natural and human sciences and in fields of technology and engineering. Yet beyond its role as an inspiring and vital ecosystem, the Arctic is also a socially dynamic and politically contested space. Notwithstanding international debates and claims over Canadian Arctic sovereignty, Indigenous peoples living at the intersection of national agendas and arctic environments have been instrumental in reimagining their homelands as the setting for new models of governance, environmental stewardship/training and sustainable development which seek to address the unique and urgent challenges of the region. Indeed, discussion of northern economic development cannot be divorced from questions of Indigenous/human rights, community health and impacts on ecological systems.

To mark the 150th anniversary of Canada’s Confederation organizers of this section would like to offer faculty, researchers, graduate students and advanced undergraduate students the opportunity to reflect on and engage with Arctic issues in a Canadian or comparative trans-Arctic context (inclusive of Alaska, Greenland and elsewhere) while remaining open to perspectives that address the next 150 years. After all, the Arctic is a fundamental part of Canada’s heritage and national identity – perhaps now more than ever. In an era dominated by the effects of climate change as well as the challenges and new opportunities for social and economic development, Canada continues to look to promote and strengthen its global leadership in Arctic affairs; a fact made ever more concrete with the opening in 2017 of the government’s new state-of-the-art High Arctic Research Station in Cambridge Bay, Nunavut.

At the same time, 2017 holds broader historical significance. It marks, for example, the 150th anniversary of the Alaska Purchase. It is also the 75th Anniversary of many of World War II's dramatic and often tragic events in northern lands and waters – including Japan's invasion of the outer Aleutian Islands and the resulting Aleut evacuation from the war zone; the formation of the Alaska Eskimo Scouts and the Pacific Coast Militia Rangers, which have evolved into today’s Alaska National Guard and Canadian Rangers; and the launch of the Greenland Patrol and Sirius Dog Sled Patrol to help defend Greenland after Denmark’s fall. To Arctic geopolitics, 2017 is important in that it marks the 30th anniversary of Gorbachev’s Murmansk Speech that lead to the founding of the Arctic Council pursuant to the Ottawa Declaration. It is also a critical year for Arctic Indigenous internationalism as 2017 marks the 40th anniversary of the 1st general assembly of the Inuit held in Barrow, Alaska.

With so many historic milestones converging in 2017, it’s our great pleasure to announce our call for papers for the ACSUS Section on the North and Arctic Indigenous Peoples. Your proposed paper topics need not directly address the theme of this year’s sesquicentennials, nor the other anniversaries noted above. However, with such a convergence of important historic anniversary events, we hope you will find much inspiration in these exciting and transformative events of yesteryear in the North for your papers on issues and topics affecting the North of today and tomorrow!

Some possible themes could include: northern land claims and self-government processes; the flow of ideas on indigenous rights as land claims evolved across the region (and on both sides of the tree line); Arctic international relations (whether from state, indigenous, and/or global perspectives); the northern borderlands in regional and world politics; or Arctic geopolitics and the strategic, economic, and/or cultural consequences of the polar thaw.

Panel and Individual Paper Proposals: Please provide a draft title that succinctly describes your topic, and a 250-word abstract that describes: what your paper (or panel) is about, what methods are used, why the question/inquiry is important, your findings and conclusions. Panel proposals should include 3-4 speakers.

Please submit your proposals to any (or all) of the section organizers by March 15, 2017:

Nadine Fabbi, University of Washington, nfabbi@uw.edu
Barry Scott Zellen, Georgetown University, bsz5@georgetown.edu
Mark Watson, Concordia University, mark.watson@concordia.ca
Registration Fees: The registration fee for ACSUS members is $200 before June 15, 2017; and $250 after June 15, 2017. The registration fee for non-members is $320, and includes a two-year ACSUS membership. (Graduate student registration fees will be lower, and these will be announced shortly).

Travel: The conference will be held at the Tuscany Suites and Resort, which is in a quiet area that is, nonetheless, only a 10-minute walk from the Las Vegas Strip. Spacious and beautiful rooms for the conference are provided at the special rate of $65 per night (single or double occupancy) for weekdays and $125 per night for weekends. More information on this site is available at http://www.tuscanylv.com/

Other ACSUS Sections:

Anthropology and Sociology: Kim MacInnis, Bridgewater State University, kmacinnis@bridgew.edu
Borders and Domestic Security: Pierre Atlas, Marian University, patlas@marian.edu
Quebec Studies: Sam Fisher, University of South Alabama, sfisher@southalabama.edu
North American Studies: Laura Macdonald, Carleton University, laura.macdonald@cunet.carleton.ca; Jeffrey Ayres, St. Michael’s College, jayres@smcvt.edu; Christopher Sands, Johns Hopkins University, csands1@jhu.edu
Education: Amy Southerden, State University of New York at Plattsburgh, southeral@plattsburgh.edu
Foreign Policy and Defense: Patrick James, University of Southern California, patrickj@usc.edu; David Haglund, Queen’s University, david.haglund@queensu.ca
Gender and Diversity: Sharon Morgan Beckford-Foster, Rochester Institute of Technology, smbgsl@rit.edu
Geography, Energy, and the Environment: Andrea Olive, University of Toronto, andrea.olive@utoronto.ca; Daniel Macfarlane, Western Michigan University Daniel.macfarlane@wmich.edu
History: Andrew Holman, Bridgewater State University, a2holman@bridgew.edu
Literature and Arts (English): Robert Thacker, St. Lawrence University, rthacker@stlawu.edu; David Staines, University of Ottawa, david.staines@uottawa.ca
Literature and Arts (French): Katherine Roberts, Wilfrid Laurier University, karoberts@wlu.ca; Jane Koustas, Brock University, jkoustas@brocku.ca
Politics and Public Policy: Neal Carter, Brigham Young University—Idaho, cartern@byui.edu
First Nations: Pamela Palmater, Ryerson University, ppalmater@politics.ryerson.ca
Film: Matthew Smith, State University of New York at Plattsburgh, smithmi@plattsburgh.edu; Peter Lester, Brock University, plester@brocku.ca; Anthony Kinik, Brock University, akinik@brocku.ca
Immigration and Citizenship: Mireille Paquet, Concordia University, Mireille.paquet@concordia.ca
Philosophy: Joan Whitman Hoff, Lock Haven University, jhoff@lhup.edu; Bob Timko, (emeritus), Mansfield University, robertimko@comcast.net
Media, Music, Performance, and Popular Culture: Nicolas Baxter-Moore, Brock University, nbaxtermoore@brocku.ca; Karen Fricker, Brock University, kfricker@brocku.ca
Mexico and Canada: Myrna Delson-Karan, Queen’s College, City University of New York, delsonkaran@yahoo.com


--

CANADIAN STUDIES CENTER
Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies
University of Washington, Seattle
206-221-6374 | canada@uw.edu
http://jsis.washington.edu/canada/

Physical Location
Thomson Hall, Room 503

Mailing Address
Box 353650
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington 98195